Eagles

One of my favorite birds to watch and photograph is the American Bald Eagle. They are such majestic creatures and quite large. I’m always impressed by the way they “stick to business”. During the winter, they conserve energy and you don’t see them flying around wasting any unless it’s to snatch a fish.

I had a nice day watching them the other day and hope to go back. I am finding it a bit more challenging now that I have a wee bit of knowledge, but great fun anyway. I will post more pics later in the week.

A couple young ones hanging on the ice:

IMG_1133 (17 of 55) - Version 2

A seemingly puzzled mature eagle checking out his reflection in the ice.

IMG_1135 (19 of 55) - Version 2

Part of what I found challenging was that, the mature eagle was only about 20-25 feet away from the young ones, but the change in exposure was dramatic.  And, sometimes, I just forget to change my settings………. 😦

A good place to learn about the eagles, particularly in the Northeast is to be found at the Eagle Institute.

2 responses to “Eagles

  1. Love these photos and little story!

Leave a Reply

