Chicago

I guess Ginger was right-I’m not so hot keeping up with this blog. I’m probably not going to do much better either.

My corner of the world got a little larger last weekend when I went to Chicago. I LOVE Chicago! There’s always something to do or see. Millennium Park is usually a must see for me but, unfortunately, not this weekend.

I used my iPhone 4 a lot. We all know those DSLRs can be quite heavy! I’m wondering if I should invest in an in between camera…..Hmmm…that’s a decision for another day.

Every morning, I trekked to Starbucks. I think I’m hooked now on the whole Starbucks experience. Kind of nice-like a little community. I took this on the way there one morning. It is arguably one of my best iPhone shots. (btw, these are all iPhone shots).

20110919-073521.jpg
It was taken with Camera+ app and then I applied the HDR filter.
This gentleman seemed to be the official greeter for the local Starbucks. He knew everybody and everyone knew him. He was there every morning.

20110919-074254.jpg

The Lincoln Park zoo is a favorite of mine, along with the nature museum, butterfly pavilion and conservatory. I had an hour or 2 to kill and dashed in for a quick visit.
First, the conservatory:

20110919-074550.jpg
Inside:

20110919-074631.jpg
The fruit of the sausage tree: (who knew?)

20110919-074835.jpg

On to the zoo: ( remember, it’s all happening at the zoo)

20110919-075427.jpg
Water fountain just inside the gate:

20110919-075628.jpg
I think it’s so cool that it’s made with elephants. If that is ever for sale, I definitely want it. 🙂

It was really hot that afternoon so I got lucky. The polar bear was swimming around to keep cool. What a beautiful animal! He looked so cuddly too, tho I know better. Haha. The kids just loved him.

20110919-075916.jpg

20110919-075952.jpg

I rushed through one or 2 more exhibits but, sadly, it was time to go.

Leave a Reply

