Lessons learned this weekend- what NOT to do!

I learned a few things this weekend that I would not normally think of when thinking photography. Friday night I went down to the canal in hopes of a nice sunset shot. I found out you DO NOT wear your beloved TOMS and think you’ll make it down that steep, slippery embankment to the water in order to capture that cool shot of the sunset and trees in the water. You do not wear shorts and no bug spray on a hot humid night near a body of water. Friday night was definitely a short, fruitless, itchy trip.

However, the next morning I got up, put on hiking shoes, long pants and lots of bug spray and returned(boy, was I glad I did that last one in particular). The canal in Wharton was part of the canal that was used for transportation of iron and anthracite from Newark, NJ to Phillipsburg, NJ. Here’s how it looks now:

The current start of part of the canal

I walked down a little further and saw an interesting spot down a steep embankment filled with a lot of rock and gravel. I debated if I could make it down to the water successfully and decided to go beyond what would be easy. When I got to the bottom, it was very pretty but the shots I got I wasn’t happy with. I then learned the value of just sitting quietly and not rushing off. As I observed my surroundings I noticed a heron standing quite still a ways down. I debated if I should, or even could put on a longer lens on the off chance he would come my way. They can stand still for really long periods of time and exasperate the most patient person.

Don't know if you can see the heron quite a distance away, but he's there. 🙂

As quickly as I could I switched lenses to my 70-200 and waited.

He floats past


And lands

It was all downhill from there! I couldn’t switch from .JPEG to RAW cause my card was too full, my camera decided to get wacky and not work, my nose hit some button on the back of the camera and switched to live view and I didn’t know how to turn it off………

I did manage to get a couple more shots after that snafu……..

I did learn some valuable lessons this weekend…I may even invest in a monopod and/or tripod too.

Some images can be seen full size on my Flickr account.

Leave a Reply

